top of page

Finding your fit!

Hey Everyone!

My name is Kristi and I am one of the first year masters students in the College Student Affairs Administration Program. It is my hope that I can tell you a little bit about what my life looks like here as a student and working as a Graduate Resident for University Housing here at the University of Georgia!

First, as some of my colleagues have mentioned previously, it is important to note that each day looks different for each member of the cohort depending on assistantship schedules, any outsides activities someone is involved in, how many homework assignments that are due during a particular week, and what each person’s personal life and commitments look like.

As far as my personal experiences, working as a Graduate Resident for University Housing has allowed me to have a pretty flexible schedule. For example, we can take a look at how my Monday schedule was structured last semester. As a Graduate Resident I am required to hold office hours each week. So from 9am-12pm I worked on a variety of administrative tasks (answering emails, completing programming paperwork for the Resident Assistants (RAs) I supervise, holding minor conduct infraction meetings with residents of the building, etc.) as part of my office hours.

After that, I was able to grab lunch at one of the on-campus dining facilities with some of my fellow Graduate Residents, because a full meal plan is part of our compensation. After lunch, the first year cohort had class together from 2-5pm. After class, I was usually able to grab dinner at the dining hall, and then head back to my apartment in Brumby Hall, which is one of the on campus traditional residence halls that houses all first year students.

After dinner, I usually had a little break before my evening meetings began. At 8pm I usually held a meeting with my auxiliaries, which are groups of RAs in the building who are responsible for completing programs surrounding academic success, social justice, and community service. After the auxiliary meeting I had my staff meeting with the 8 RAs that I am responsible for supervising, and that meeting lasted about an hour.

I think it’s important to note that Mondays were one of my busiest days of the week last semester. Most other days of the week I had class (we had three other classes in addition to the one I mentioned on Monday) or meetings, but not both in the same day. Other meetings outside of auxiliary and staff meetings include: one on ones with the RAs that I supervise, having a one on one meeting with my supervisor (the residence hall director), staff meetings with my supervisor and the other graduate students who work in my building, and other miscellaneous commitments.

Weekends are usually spent hanging out with members of the cohort (tailgating a football games, trying out new restaurants around Athens, going to concerts) as well as running errands, catching up on homework, and attending programs that my RAs put on in our building.

Hopefully this gave you some insight in to what the life of a Graduate Resident and CSAA student looks like. I really love my cohort, my classes, and the faculty and hope that you can find the program and assistantship that is the best “fit” for you, too!

-Krisit

Kristi.png

Kristi Leclerc is a first year student in the College Student Affairs Administration Program. Originally from southern Maine, she graduated from the University of New Hampshire in 2014 with a degree in Sociology. During her time at UNH, she was involved in residential life, orientation, and leadership programming. In her spare time Kristi (a Ravenclaw) enjoys the occasional Netflix binge, reading, crocheting, traveling, socializing, and all things social media.


bottom of page